Last updated: July 24, 2026
ecutive summary
Gilead Sciences, Inc. v. Strides Pharma, Inc., case 3:18-cv-11134 centers on patent infringement allegations tied to Strides’ FDA-administered generic entry after a Paragraph IV-type posture. The docket reflects an asserted Gilead patent portfolio and a challenge-driven timeline consistent with Hatch-Waxman litigation. A full litigation summary with claims at issue, asserted patents, court rulings, and settlement outcomes requires the case record and opinion/judgment text; those specifics are not provided in the input, so a complete and accurate analysis cannot be produced from the available information.
What patents are at issue in Gilead Sciences v. Strides Pharma 3:18-cv-11134?
No asserted-patent list, patent numbers, claims, or claim constructions are included in the provided information. Without the complaint or the claim/chart content, the patent estate coverage cannot be mapped to the asserted inventive concepts.
What does the complaint allege?
- Parties: Gilead Sciences, Inc. (plaintiff) vs Strides Pharma, Inc. (defendant).
- Allegations: inferred as Paragraph IV-style generic infringement posture, but the specific infringement theory (product, method, formulation, or use) is not specified.
Which active ingredient or NDA/ANDA is implicated?
The provided input does not identify the drug name, NDA number, ANDA number, or the Orange Book reference listed drug that the litigation targets. Those details drive the patent-to-product linkage and the “who-to-what” infringement mapping.
When did Gilead v. Strides Pharma 3:18-cv-11134 start, and what is the procedural timeline?
The only data provided is the caption and case number. No filing date, first amendment date, motion practice, Markman date, dispositive motion outcomes, or trial/settlement milestone is included.
What were the key case milestones?
- Service of complaint: not provided.
- Answer/counterclaims: not provided.
- Claim construction (Markman) rulings: not provided.
- Summary judgment: not provided.
- Judgment/termination reason: not provided.
How strong is Gilead’s patent position in 3:18-cv-11134?
A strength analysis requires:
- the asserted patents and expiry dates,
- the claim scope and infringement mapping,
- the validity challenges (obviousness, anticipation, written description/enablement), and
- any court rulings on validity/infringement.
None of those inputs are available in the prompt.
What validity issues are typically litigated in Paragraph IV cases?
The prompt does not specify which validity grounds Gilead defended and which were raised by Strides (typical grounds include anticipation, obviousness, indefiniteness, lack of enablement, and prosecution history estoppel). No case-specific positions can be stated.
What is the outcome of Gilead v. Strides Pharma 3:18-cv-11134?
No docket disposition is provided. Without the final order, judgment, or stipulation of dismissal, an outcome classification cannot be stated (for example: infringement finding, invalidity finding, settlement with stipulated final judgment, or dismissal without prejudice).
Did the parties reach a settlement?
The prompt includes no settlement or consent judgment details. Settlement terms (if any) are not provided, so licensing and “carve-out” scope cannot be analyzed.
Which patents did Strides challenge through Paragraph IV, and what generic entry risks were present?
Paragraph IV litigation analysis requires:
- the ANDA submission date,
- the Paragraph IV certification(s),
- the Orange Book patent list, and
- the court’s decision on whether the patents are valid and infringed.
Those facts are not included.
What does “generic entry risk” hinge on?
- patent expiry and any pediatric exclusivity,
- whether the asserted patents cover composition vs method vs formulation vs use,
- whether the court issued a stay under 35 USC § 271(e)(4) and how it was lifted,
- the commercial design around the alleged infringement.
No case-specific facts are provided.
How does this litigation affect Orange Book exclusivity and FDA approval timing?
An FDA timing analysis needs:
- the relevant NDA/ANDA,
- Orange Book listed patents and listed expiration dates, and
- whether any injunction issued or was stayed pending appeal.
No such data is provided.
What regulatory filings and FDA pathways are implicated by 3:18-cv-11134?
The prompt does not identify:
- the drug, strength, dosage form, or route,
- whether the ANDA used a 505(j) pathway,
- the reference product, and
- whether there was an ISPE-type amendment or approval timing impacted by the litigation.
Which companies are involved beyond Gilead and Strides?
No additional corporate entities (other Strides affiliates, listed generics, co-defendants, or agents) are identified. Without the docket sheet or case caption extensions, the full party set cannot be enumerated.
Are there co-defendants or related cases?
No related-case cross references are provided, so the landscape cannot be mapped.
How does Gilead’s patent estate in this case compare with other Gilead generic challenges?
Comparison requires:
- the patent numbers asserted in this case and their status, and
- prior or parallel litigations involving Gilead and other generic filers.
Those specifics are not in the prompt.
Key Takeaways
- The provided input identifies the case as Gilead Sciences, Inc. v. Strides Pharma, Inc., 3:18-cv-11134, but does not include the asserted patents, the NDA/ANDA/drug identity, or any court rulings or settlement terms.
- A complete litigation summary and patent-strength analysis cannot be produced accurately without those case-record specifics.
FAQs
- What is the asserted patent list for Gilead v. Strides Pharma 3:18-cv-11134?
- Did the court issue a preliminary injunction or final judgment in 3:18-cv-11134?
- Which ANDA and FDA reference listed drug (RLD) is linked to the litigation?
- What settlement or consent judgment terms were reached, if any, in 3:18-cv-11134?
- How does the decision in 3:18-cv-11134 affect launch timing for Strides and other generic filers?
References (APA)
No sources were provided in the prompt, and no docket/opinion text or Orange Book listing was included; therefore, no citations can be generated.